The BC and Yukon Book Prizes and the Historic Joy Kogawa House present BC Yukon Book Mail. BC Yukon Book Mail invites readers to write letters to Joy Kogawa and Julie Flett, the winners of the 2020 Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Literary Excellence, who will respond to the first 100 letters they each receive. Readers of all ages, as well as classes and families, are invited to spend time reading the work of Julie Flett and Joy Kogawa, and to write about their books that they love. Many of these stories have become important parts of readers’ lives, and it is a chance to share what you enjoy and hold dear about these titles with the authors who wrote them. Interested participants will have until June 1, 2021 to mail their letters to Julie and Joy. Choose your custom stationary and write your letter. Letter to Joy Kogawa:

Letters to Julie Flett:

Letters can be mailed to: BC Yukon Bookmail 3687 Hennepin Avenue Vancouver BC V5S 3X3 In her a hand-written letter to help celebrate the launch of BC Yukon Book Mail, Lieutenant Governor, Her Honourable Janet Austin wrote, “As a tremendous admirer of these two outstanding B.C. authors, and a long-time advocate for the return of hand-written personal epistle, I will be taking immediate advantage of this opportunity! I hope you will too!” The Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Literary Excellence was established in 2003 by the Honourable Iona Campagnolo to recognize British Columbia writers who have contributed to the development of literary excellence in the Province. This award took a brief hiatus during 2018-2019 but was reinstated for 2020 by the Honourable Janet Austin.

About Joy Kogawa and Julie Flett:

About Joy Kogawa

Acclaimed writer Joy Kogawa is best known as the author of Obasan (1981), a Canadian novel that has become essential reading for a nation. Her other novels for adults include Itsuka (1992, rewritten as Emily Kato in 2005 and then republished as Itsuka in 2018) and The Rain Ascends (1995). Her works for children include Naomi’s Road (2005) and Naomi’s Tree (2009). Among her many honours, Joy was made a Member of the Order of Canada (1986), a Member of the Order of British Columbia (2006) and, from the Government of Japan, a Member of the Order of the Rising Sun (2010) for ‘her contribution to the understanding and preservation of Japanese Canadian history.’ For more information about Joy Kogawa visit her website here.



About Julie Flett

Julie Flett is a Cree-Métis author and illustrator, known for her work in children’s literature centred around the life and cultures of Indigenous Canadians, particularly Cree and Métis children, and their family relationships. Flett is best known for her illustrations in books such as Little You and When We Were Alone, as well as for her written work in books such as Birdsong. She is also known for her advocacy work with Indigenous youth and other community members in Vancouver’s Downtown Eastside. Julie is also involved in efforts to preserve and share Indigenous languages among English-speaking populations. For more information about Julie Flett visit her website here. For more information about the Historic Joy Kogawa House visit their website here.

Questions about BC Yukon Book Mail can be sent to Megan Cole, Director of Programming and Communications at the BC and Yukon Book Prizes at